top of page
  • Honey G. Hamm

An Intrepid Introduction...


So here it goes, my first blog post. I have to say I feel a bit nervous – why would anyone really care about what I have to say? And then I think, if something I write can help just one person make an important decision then it will have been worth it. And what decision do we face on daily basis that’s more important than the decision of what to eat?!

I don’t claim to be any sort of expert at all, but three things make me feel I am somewhat qualified to talk about food:

1. I watch a ridiculous amount of cookery programmes. 2. I own a ridiculous amount of cookbooks. More than anyone could get through in a lifetime, even if you made one new recipe per day. 3. I like to eat a ridiculous amount. Not necessarily consuming a ridiculous amount of food, you understand, more that I very much enjoy eating. And thinking about food. And looking at pictures of food. And talking about food. Are you with me?

I’m always keen to try new things but sometimes I get the fear. We humans are creatures of habit and I find myself going to the same old places and ordering the same old things time after time. Not that there’s anything wrong with enjoying a favourite meal or place, but there are so many places to eat springing up all over Dublin these days that it seems a pity not to enjoy the full range of food on offer.

I also worry about silly things, like how much will it cost? How big are the portions? How busy is it? Will I find a seat? Do I have to make a quick decision and order at a counter, or do I have some time to peruse the menu at my table? And recently I’ve found myself faced with a whole bunch of other worries like will I be able to fit a buggy in there? Do they have high chairs and baby changing? Are there stairs up to the door or inside? A trip to the café in the Kilkenny Shop on Nassau Street is never straightforward – in spite of their delicious breakfast and jazz combination on a Sunday morning, the stairs-only access makes it a real struggle with Baba in tow.

So, the purpose of this blog is to push me to try new things and be more adventurous. I also hope it helps those of you who are like me, anxiously googling places before you go to eat there.

As I said, I don’t claim to be an expert so I don’t feel I have the right to proclaim my opinion to be correct. However, I will endeavour to give an honest report and commentary of the good bits (and the bad bits, if necessary) of the places I go to. I may also try some new recipes along the way, but let’s take it one step at a time!

My first foray into this exciting new world will be brunch in Kilmainham’s new spot, Union 8. Owned by Padraig McLoughlin (boyfriend of Kathryn Thomas), it seems to be full all the time so, despite my initial reservations about it, it must have something to draw such constant crowds, and it’s great to see it doing so well.

Husband and Baba and I are going for brunch on Sunday morning. Of course, I’ve already googled the menu, checked out some photos to assess for buggy suitability, and double checked the opening times so I’m all set to go! J

Watch this space…

Honey. x


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page