top of page
  • Honey G. Hamm

Me-Time Teatime: Peacock Green


It’s been a long time since my last post. Apologies for my radio silence but to be honest, my day job had taken over my life there for a while. Pesky job. Although it does pay the bills so I won’t give out too much. But after a busy few weeks at my desk I was ready for a bit of me-time teatime, and headed for lunch at Peacock Green on Lord Edward Street.

To be honest I didn’t set out to go there. I didn’t know what I fancied and just went for a wander. When I spotted the shop front I remembered that I’d walked past many times and promised myself a trip inside, so this was my chance at last. I particularly like how the pastries are displayed in the glimmering front window, like precious jewels at a jeweller’s shop. The thick slabs of caramel shortbread looked especially inviting, although not the most sensible choice for lunchtime.

Inside, there was a tempting selection of sandwiches on offer with different types of bread and generous, colourful fillings spilling out. I chose the Isabella – chicken, chorizo and mozzarella with tomato and rocket on a crusty French roll – and a cappuccino, which came in a satisfyingly large mug. There was a little bit of a wait but, in general, service was pretty quick and it wasn’t long before me and my lunch headed upstairs together.

It’s the perfect place for Me-Time Teatime actually. Downstairs, there’s not an awful lot of space and I really wouldn’t want to try and negotiate buggy in there. There is some seating downstairs at a counter in the window, but upstairs the seating is more comfortable, if a little cosy. The walls were crowded with lovely antique pictures and the atmosphere was very relaxed. Most of the other customers seemed to be tourists who were taking a break from sight-seeing, so there was none of the usual stressy feeling that often comes with lunching out.

Anyway, back to that sandwich. It was so tasty. The soft mozzarella and spicy chorizo with the crisp bread was really delicious. And that coffee. Smooth and mellow. I’m sighing with satisfaction to myself as I type this.

The only thing that disappointed me was the salad garnish on the plate. It was beetroot and fennel with some carrot and greenery thrown in for good measure. It looked so colourful, fresh and vibrant, but in fact, there was so much dressing on the salad that the flavour of the vegetables was overwhelmed by the sweetness of the dressing. Nevertheless, it’s nice to get such a generous helping of salad on the side, and a bit of crunch is always welcome. Plus, eating salad allows me to pretend I’m being healthy.

Sadly, I didn’t have enough time to indulge in a caramel slice but at least I’ve got a good reason to go back again. As if I needed one. Pretty unbeatable in my book.

Peacock Green is located in a few different locations around the city: Lower Leeson Street, Hatch Station Building, Lord Edward Street and Merrion Road.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page