top of page
  • Honey G. Hamm

Azteca: Warm Welcomes and Chilli Delights


A whole lot of factors contributed to making last Friday the ideal day for a lunch date with Husband and Baba. Reason 1: It was pay day. Reason 2: We had eaten every leftover in the house and there were no more leftovers left. Reason 3: I worked late on Thursday and hadn’t seen Baba since Wednesday night (plus I was going out after work on Friday and wouldn’t see Baba until Saturday), so I was dying to see her. So Husband suggested meeting for lunch and I agreed enthusiastically.

I presented Husband with 2 choices of venue. His choice was Azteca on Lord Edward Street, a Mexican restaurant that I’ve seen about a billion times and never ventured into. Inside is quite small but we were there for an early lunch so we had our choice of tables. We had Baba’s booster seat with us, which was a good thing, as there didn’t appear to be a highchair. She’s happiest in her booster seat anyway and it meant less disruption to the furniture, so it was better all round. As we sat down a waiter appeared with a dish of tortilla chips and a smoky chilli dip which were deliciously salty and spicy.

After lengthy perusal of the detailed menu, I opted for the Rio Grande burrito – a burrito filled with chicken, chorizo and guacamole, plus all the usual lovelies you’d expect in a burrito. Husband chose the Azteca Enchiladas which came with mole, sour cream, refried beans and rice. I also ordered a side of guacamole, knowing how much Baba enjoys it. The guacamole arrived quickly and Baba didn’t waste time getting stuck into teaspoons full of it. It was fresh, vibrant and tasty, and only about every third or fourth spoon went into my own mouth, honest!

Our generously-proportioned lunches arrived quickly. They were really delicious. Mine was spicy here and there, but not overwhelmingly so. The burrito was really stuffed full of chicken – often I find other places fill burritos with rice and scrimp a bit on the other fillings, but this wasn’t the case here. Baba did quality control on Husband’s refried beans, which were even more popular than the guacamole was. I can’t tell you much about the enchiladas as Husband hoovered them up in a nanosecond. Although I can tell you that he said they were delicious and he would definitely go back there again.

Rio Grande Burrito: chicken, chorizo and guacamole

Chicken enchiladas with mole, refried beans and rice

I think neither of us wanted it to end so we ordered dessert – lime and tequila cheesecake. Three of my favourite words! Husband also ordered a coffee to go with it. When the cheesecake arrives it looked clean and fresh – it tasted tangy and light, although I would have liked a bit more of a tequila kick from it myself! Baba had a great time eating the crumbs and the strawberry coulis, laughing and gibbering away.

The staff were incredibly warm, welcoming and friendly, and took an interest in Baba, making sure we had everything we needed. The total bill for a burrito, enchiladas, a side of guacamole, two slices of cheesecake and a coffee was €36. Although this is more than I’d usually spend at lunchtime, we both were very well fed and the whole experience was just so enjoyable. Plus, I felt reassured that Husband was fed enough to last through an evening in the house with no food in the fridge. I’m pretty sure we’ll be back again pretty soon.

Azteca is located at 19-22 Lord Edward Street, Dublin 2, and is open Monday to Wednesday 12pm-8pm, Thursday to Saturday 12pm-9pm, and 12pm-6pm on Sundays. They even do cooking lessons which sound like fun. Call 01 6709476 for more details


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page