top of page
  • Honey G. Hamm

Going Loco Down in Acapulco


It’s been a momentous week in the Hamm household – Baba turned 1 this week and we were all set to celebrate!

On the day in question we arranged to meet for lunch. I had taken a half day from work so the venue for lunch really had to reflect my genuine excitement at an afternoon of freedom and also, of course, at having kept a baby alive for a whole year! Husband suggested Acapulco and, as much as I fancied a break, I didn’t think we’d get to Mexico and back in an afternoon. Har har! But honestly, I was a bit taken aback. It was years since I’d been in there and I’d never even heard of anyone going there recently, so who was to know what the place was like these days?!

Of course I took to Google to check out the lunch menu. They have some great lunchtime offerings: nachos, tacos, tostadas, quesadillas, burritos, and even some noodle and rice dishes. Plenty to choose from. And what really caught my eye was that they had a children’s menu – definitely a child-friendly location then. And all at very affordable lunchy prices. So it was agreed, Acapulco was the spot.

As soon as I set foot in the place I knew we had made the right choice. The staff were welcoming and the décor inside was so colourful and warm. Also, it wasn’t terribly busy and there was plenty of space for the buggy, which Husband had already negotiated into a corner with a large table. A highchair appeared very quickly along with two lovely warm fresh tortillas, and we set Baba up at the corner of the large table, delighted with herself, pointing out all the lights and colourful pictures around us, and offering to share her tortilla with anyone who came close.

We opted for the lunch combo which was a bowl of soup and tacos with a choice of filling – Husband went for pork and I went for chicken. We also ordered a quesadilla for Baba — she had eaten her first quesadilla earlier that week so we knew it was a hit! — and our server had no problem with our requests to put some vegetables in there (such responsible parenting!). I couldn’t resist the urge to order a margarita, given that it was a celebration. Exactly a year ago, while lying spread-eagled in the hospital, hooked up to monitors and drips, I would have snapped someone’s arm off for a margarita. So in honour of women everywhere currently in that rather uncomfortable position, I ordered a margarita and oh boy, it was good!

The food arrived and it was colourful, vibrant and tasty. The soup was a little salty even for my taste, but very tasty all the same. It was full of chicken, vegetables and a large grain I never saw before but was a bit like barley. Baba chomped her way through the quesadilla with a little help from Husband, and we were enjoying ourselves so much we decided to have dessert. One deep-fried ice-cream and baked vanilla cheesecake later and we were happy stuffed bunnies.

The total cost was €50.70 — that included two lunches, a margarita, a bottle of beer, two desserts, and a child’s quesadilla and bowl of ice-cream. The food (and drink!) was delicious, the service was faultless, and the atmosphere was perfectly relaxed, friendly and comfortable. I wouldn’t hesitate to go back either with Baba in tow or for an adult evening dinner.

Pretty unb-eat-able I’d say! And I bet you've got that song stuck in your head now, haven't you??

Honey. x


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page