top of page
  • Honey G. Hamm

Down but not b-eat-en!


Apologies one and all for the radio silence over the last little while. It's been a trying few weeks what with tummy bugs and work and planning the event of the century - my sister's hen party! I'm sorry to say my culinary adventures have taken a serious backseat recently but I'm hoping to be back on track soon. Unfortunately the aforementioned activities have taken some commitment from my bank balance as well, so eating out has become quite a luxury and the old reliable cheese sandwich has been my lunchtime friend. Something I wanted to write about was a recent trip to Dunboyne Castle. Husband and I were looking forward to a relaxing night away without Baba, our first night away from her since she'd been born. When we arrived we headed to the bar for a little light sustenance. I had an open prawn sandwich and I am disappointed to tell you it was (at that time) the most tasteless meal I'd ever eaten in my life. Had I been blindfolded I would never have been able to identify what was in my mouth. After a lovely time relaxing in the spa which, I hasten to add, was absolutely blissful, we got ready for what promised to be a truly gourmet experience. I'm sorry to say that yet again, the food was utterly tasteless. I had scallops to start followed by duck and finished off with a pretty chocolate tart. I don't even know how to describe them to you as everything about each of the dishes was entirely lack lustre. Actually, that's not entirely true; the chocolate tart had some popping candy which was fun, and to be fair it was the most enjoyable of my three courses. Husband had soup and monkfish and seemed quite deflated by the disappointing lack of flavour from the monkfish, given that it was his first time to try it and he'd been expecting so much more.

Chocolate Peanut Caramel Tart - a visual stunner but that's about it

Sadly, our visit to Dunboyne was overshadowed by the fact that I caught the tummy bug Baba had been cultivating, and the rest of Saturday night was spent in our room. I had thought that this might have been the reason for my perception of the food being very below par, but Husband assured me the next morning, even the sausages were bland and tasteless. So there you go. Just because a place is expensive doesn't mean you're going to get quality. I'd certainly go back to Dunboyne Castle just for the spa, but I'd give some serious consideration to bringing a packed lunch along with me! I hope to get properly back on track soon, so stay tuned! Chat soon!

Honey. x


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page