top of page
  • Honey G. Hamm

Hot Diggety Dog


You know how you walk past somewhere all the time and think to yourself, “I must go in there one of these days”? Well that’s how it was with me and Frite Haus on Camden Street. Every time I spotted it I remembered the conversations I’d had with friends and colleagues who all seemed impressed with the place, and vowed that one day I, too, would venture inside.

My friends, I’m pleased to report that I finally made the journey to dine at Frite Haus but there’s a bittersweet note to this tale, as I’ve just found out that they closed down last Sunday. So, although it’s not exactly relevant anymore, I’m still going to tell you about our experience there because it was a good one, and I’d very much like to indulge in a spot of mouth-watering culinary reminiscing.

Husband and Baba met me at lunchtime and we strolled over to Camden Street. The place was empty apart from one other couple with their toddler (clue number one that the business may have been struggling), so we had no trouble finding a table with plenty of space. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and were very quick to help out with rearranging furniture to accommodate us. With Baba secured in a high chair we had a look at the menu which had lots of tasty delights on offer. Husband chose a curry hot dog and I went for the chorizo hot dog, with a portion of frites to share. There was nothing on the menu that would have been suitable for Baba but to be honest, she was happy just waving at anyone who looked at her, and anyone who didn’t. And a few morsels of bread roll might have made their way into her chubby grasp.

The food took a little while to arrive, not a very long time, but long enough to know that it was being cooked freshly, which is always reassuring. When the two hot dogs arrived I have to confess to feeling a little disappointed at the size of it. I was feeling particularly greedy that day and thought my dog looked a little less like a Great Dane and a little more like a Chihuahua. However, I needn’t have worried. The hot dog was so flavoursome and the soft white roll and crunchy fried onions were the perfect accompaniments. Husband was clearly thinking about having an affair with his curry hot dog as he looked lovingly at it between each bite, but I did manage to snaffle a bite of his tasty mistress. I can appreciate his feelings but I definitely preferred my own choice. Then again, I’m always a sucker for anything with chorizo. If lettuce tasted like chorizo I would be so skinny.

Sharing the portion of frites was a good idea because, as usual, my eyes were bigger than my belly, and that’s saying something! They were yummy too – hot and crispy with a nice saltiness to them.

It was not the kind of thing you’d eat once a week for lunch, more like an occasional treat when you’ve been good all month and feel like a naughty but oh-so-delicious munchfest. The bill for both of us came to €18 which isn’t extortionate for two lunches but again, not the kind of money you could afford to splash very regularly.

I know this counts for nothing now (except in days to come when Husband and I will say to each other “remember that time we went for lunch in Frite Haus?” as we drool like Homer Simpson and daydream of saucy hot dogs), but I think it’s worth noting that Frite Haus was a lovely place to eat – great food and lovely staff, and a relaxed and comfortable environment for Baba. It's a shame it took me so long to eat there and I'm sorry to see them go. That'll teach me to procrastinate! Seize the day, my friends, seize the day. Or in this case, seize the dog!

According to Frite Haus’s Facebook page, the space will be taken over by Pallet Pizza, whoever they are. When they do arrive I'll be sure to check them out quickly, before the next big thing comes along and replaces them too!

Honey. x


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page